## **Annual Business Meeting**

International Association for Great Lakes Research
Virtual meeting
June 15<sup>th</sup>, 2022, 2:30pm – 4:00pm

#### 1. Call to order

President Andrew Bramburger called the meeting to order at 2:35pm. He thanked everyone for
joining the board meeting, despite the change in scheduling to accommodate the virtual awards
ceremony.

## 2. Approval of meeting agenda

- Jim Bence moved to approve the meeting agenda. Trevor Pitcher seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

### 3. Approval of 2021 minutes

- Mary Ginnebaugh moved to approve the minutes for the 2021 annual business meeting; Susan Daniel seconded.
- Michael Twiss noted that Rene Shahmohamadloo's name was incomplete in the minutes; his last name should be included.
- All in favor, amended to include Rene's full name.
- Motion carried.

### 4. President's report

- President Andrew Bramburger provided the report from the President.
- Andrew started by acknowledging our benefactors who make IAGLR's operations possible. Andrew also acknowledged the work of IAGLR's board of directors from 2021 to 2022. He reminded everyone that IAGLR is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, and that the organization is required to adhere to its bylaws; the annual business meeting is a part of this legal requirement.
- Andrew acknowledged that the COVID pandemic continues to impact IAGLR's revenues, conferences, and membership. Andrew gave an overview of upcoming conferences: the Joint Aquatic Science Meeting in Grand Rapids, MI, the State of Lake Erie Conference in Cleveland, OH, the State of Lake Michigan Conference in Traverse City, MI, and IAGLR's 2023 annual meeting in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
- Andrew provided an update on staffing. Paula McIntyre was hired as IAGLR's permanent communication director, following her years as a contractor. Alex Maguffee took over as IAGLR

following the departure of Katie Thomas. The search for an executive director has identified a preferred candidate, and negotiations are ongoing.

- Calvin Hitch moved to approve the President's report. Jim Bence seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

# 5. Treasurer's report

- Business Manager Wendy Foster provided the treasurer's report in treasurer Lizhu Wang's stead.
- The association saw a decline in revenue in 2020 due to the COVID pandemic, but recovered in 2021. Through the end of May 2022, the organization is currently experiencing a loss.
- Susan Daniel moved to approve the treasurer's report. Paris Collingsworth seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

# 6. Publication report

- Publication Committee Chair Jim Bence provided the report from the Publication Committee.
- Jim Bence provided an overview of the performance of the Journal of Great Lakes Research in the last year: 220 articles were published, which is considered high; the impact factor was 2.48, which is the highest the journal has experienced; cite score was at 4.4, up 30% over 2020; downloads were high; the time to article decisions has decreased; submissions in 2019 2021 were at all time high.
- Special Sections are popular; the journal had three Special Sections in 2020, and four in 2021, with a supplemental issue on the third Sea Lamprey International Symposium. Several Special Sections are lined up for 2022.
- The contract with Elsevier will annually renew at the start of 2023, with no foreseen changes. JGLR has a hybrid publishing model, with a trend towards more open access papers. Editors Bob Hecky and Stephanie Guildford have informed IAGLR that this is their last complete year as editors; a search for new editors is in the planning stages. Jim thanked Bob and Stephanie for their service to the journal and IAGLR.
- Michael Twiss moved to approve the Publication report. Paris Collingsworth seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

# 7. Nomination report

- President Andrew Bramburger provided the report from the Nominations Committee.
- Andrew provided an overview of board members and their term expiry dates; the nominations committee will seek replacements for outgoing board members in the next year.
- Susan Daniel moved to approve the Nomination report. Noel Urban seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

## 8. Membership report

- Evie Brahmstedt provided the Membership report on behalf of Jean Adams.
- Evie reminded everyone that the goal of the Membership Committee is to promote recruitment and retention of IAGLR's board members.
- The membership has dropped in recent years due to the impact of the COVID pandemic, since membership is generally driven by conference attendance. Membership is expected to grow due to IAGLR's upcoming annual conference in Toronto in May 2023. IAGLR's new membership portal is also in the works.
- Tim Johnson moved to approve the Membership report. Calvin Hitch seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

## 9. 2023 Conference update

- Calvin Hitch provided an update for the 2023 Conference in Toronto; preparations for the conference are going smoothly.

# 10. Motion of Responsibility

- "Resolved, that all acts, contracts, proceedings, and payments of money made by the Officers and
  Directors of the Association in their conduct of affairs of the Association since the last Annual
  General Meeting held June 2021 be approved. The same are hereby ratified, confirmed, and
  sanctioned."
- Jim Bence moved to approve the motion of responsibility. Tim Johnson seconded.
- All in favor.
- Motion carried.

# 11. Appreciation Awards

- Andrew Bramburger provided the appreciation awards for outgoing board members:
  - o Ed Verhamme (LimnoTech), Past-President
  - o Paul Sibley(University of Guelph), Conference Committee Co-Chair
  - o Trevor Pitcher (University of Windsor), Board Member
  - Evie Brahmstedt (Clarkson University), Student Board Member

### 12. Introduction of New Board Members

- Andrew Bramburger (Environment & Climate Change Canada) became Past-President; Jean Adams (US Geological Survey) became President; Neil Rooney (University of Guelph) became Vice-President.
- Andrew Bramburger introduced the new 2022-2023 board members:

- Lizhu Wang (International Joint Commission), Treasurer
- Alex Maguffee (Michigan State University), Secretary
- o Les Warren (Purdue University), US Student Member
- Noel Urban (Michigan Technological University), US Regular Member
- Calvin Hitch (Toronto and Region Conservation Authority), Canadian Regular Member
- Andrew passed the "virtual gavel" to Jean Adams as the new president of IAGLR.

#### 13. Business from the floor

- No business from the floor.

## 14. Meeting Adjourned

- Jean Adams moved to adjourn the Business Meeting to a close at 3:48pm.

# 15. Awards Ceremony

- The Business meeting was followed by a virtual awards ceremony. Awards Committee Co-Chairs Neil Rooney and Susan Daniel led the presentation of the following awards:
  - Student Scholarships
    - Norman S. Baldwin Scholarship: Morgan Piczak
    - Norman S. Baldwin Scholarship: Christopher Rounds
    - David M. Dolan Scholarship: Emily Liljestrand
    - IAGLR Scholarship: Molly Wick
  - Large Lake Champion Awards
    - Patricia Chow-Fraser
    - Catherine Febria
    - Abraham Francis
    - James Olson
    - Ali Shakoor

#### Journal Awards

- Best Reviewer: Matthew Kornis
- Best Associate Editor: Noel Urban
- JGLR/Elsevier Student Award: Taylor Stewart
- JGLR/Elsevier Early Career Award: Jasmine Mancuso
- Chandler-Misener Award: Erin S. Dunlop, Mark R. Christie, Rob McLaughlin & Todd
   B. Steeves

# Professional Awards

- Anderson-Everett Award: Jess Ives
- John R. (Jack) Vallentyne Award: Dave Dempsey
- Lifetime Achievement Award: J. Val Klump