Annual Business Meeting Agenda International Association for Great Lakes Research Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre Scarborough, Ontario 20 June, 2018, 1:00-2:20pm

- 1. Call to order
 - President Erin Dunlop called the meeting to order at 1:27pm
- 2. Approval of meeting agenda
 - Tim Johnson moved to approve the agenda. Jim Bence second unanimously approved
- 3. Approval of 2017 minutes
 - Jerome Marty moved to approve the minutes, Bob Heath second unanimously approved
- 4. President's report (Erin Dunlop)
 - Erin introduced the current board members and thanked them for their service during her presidency. She also gave special thanks to Wendy Foster (Business Manager), Christine Manninen (Conference Coordinator), and Paula McIntyre (Communications Director).
 - IAGLR is doing well. Last year's conference in Detroit was the largest ever, but this year's conference is also a big success, with over 800 attendees.
 - Key activities and initiatives include the State of the Lake conferences (Michigan last fall, Superior upcoming this fall), growing our international reach through the upcoming IAGLR-ELLS conference and a new international board member position, and an Erb Foundation grant to summarize and communicate outcomes of AOC work (through John Hartig).
- 5. Membership committee report (prepared by Rebecca Rooney and presented by Erin Dunlop)
 - Membership continues to be stable.
 - A membership survey will be distributed soon after the conference. The survey will help the board better understand the needs and views of IAGLR members to help shape future activities. Results are anonymous.
- 6. Treasurer's report (prepared by Scott McNaught and presented by Erin Dunlop)
 - 2017 had slightly higher revenue than expenses, but the previous three years had higher expenses than revenue.
 - However, IAGLR is in a good financial position, with ~\$780,000 in Vanguard investment accounts and ~\$165,000 in Key Bank accounts.
- 7. Publication Report (prepared by Jim Bence and presented by Erin Dunlop)
 - The JGLR has moved from special issues to special sections. When the change was made, it wasn't clear how people would value sections versus issues, but people still seem interested.
 Three special sections are in process for 2018, and three are in development for 2019.
 - Downloads continue to rise, and impact factor is stable. Manuscript processing time is decreasing.
 - Erin asked that people continue to support the journal through reviews, submissions, and downloads.
 - Jim and Erin thanked the Associate Editors, who make the journal possible.
- 8. Nomination report (prepared by Beth Hinchey Malloy and Paul Sibley, presented by Erin Dunlop)

- 9. Update on the State of the Lake meetings
 - The State of Lake Superior meeting will be held in Houghton, MI, Oct 9-12, 2018.
- 10. Update on the European Large Lakes Symposium
 - The ELLS-IAGLR meeting will be held Sept 23-28, 2018, in Evian, France.
 - Abstract deadline is June 30th, and spaces are limited so members should register early.
- 11. 2019 Conference update
 - Jacques Rinchard invited the membership to attend the next conference at SUNY-Brockport, June 10-14, 2019.
- 12. Motion of Responsibility:
 - "Resolved, that all acts, contracts, proceedings, and payments of money made by the Officers and Directors of the Association in their conduct of affairs of the Association since the last Annual General Meeting held May 17, 2017, be approved. The same are hereby ratified, confirmed, and sanctioned."
 - Moved: Bob Heath, second: Francine McCarthy unanimously approved.
- 13. Introduction of new board members
 - Richard Ogutu-Ohwayo (international member), Jennifer Boehme (US member), Mary Ginnebaugh (US member), Ed Verhamme (US member), and Owen Stefaniak (US student member)
- 14. New Vice-President and President
 - Erin announced that the new vice president of IAGLR is Paul Sibley.
 - Erin concluded her presidency and passed the gavel to the incoming president, Michael Twiss.
- 15. Business from the floor
 - No business from the floor.
- 16. Appreciation Awards
 - Thank you to outgoing board members:
 - Tomas Höök, Past President
 - Susan Daniel, Awards Committee co-chair
 - Elizabeth Hinchey Malloy, Nominations Committee co-chair
 - Lars Rudstam, Awards Committee co-chair
 - Thank you to outgoing Associate editors:
 - Michael Sierszen
 - George Leshkevich
 - Thank you to IAGLR 2018 site chairs:
 - George Arhonditsis
 - Mathew Wells
- 17. Meeting adjourned
 - \circ $\;$ Michael Twiss moved to adjourn the meeting.
 - Second: Scott McNaught