MINUTES Annual Business Meeting International Association for Great Lakes Research

University Toledo Toledo, Ohio

20 May 2009

1. Call to Order

President Ron Hites called the meeting to order at 1226h.

2. Approval of the Agenda

A motion to approve the meeting agenda was offered by Steve Hensler, seconded by, Bob Heath and was unanimously supported.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2008 Annual Business Meeting

A motion to approve the minutes of the 2008 Annual Business Meeting was offered by Steve Hensler, seconded by, Lynda Corkum and was unanimously supported.

4. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Steve Lozano presented a financial statement and summary of the Association's standing for the year ending 31 December 2008. A motion to approve the Treasurer's Report was offered by Bill Bolin, seconded by Patrick Lawrence, and was unanimously supported

5. President's Report

President gave a PowerPoint presentation outlining key business conducted by the Board in 2009.

6. JGLR Editor's Report

Journal Editor Marlene Evans spoke to key issues related to the Journal, and particularly the Association's transition to a web-based editorial system through Elsevier.

7. Business from the Floor

President Hites asked if there was any business that the membership wished to bring forward. Hearing none, the meeting continued.

8. Business from the Board of Directors

President Hites asked if there was any business that the Board wished to bring forward. At this point, announcements were made regarding the venues for future meetings, and Miriam Diamond as Conference Chair provided an overview of plans for the 2010 conference at the University of Toronto.

9. Motion of Responsibility

The Motion of Responsibility was offered by Gerry Matisoff: "Resolved, that all acts,

contracts, proceedings, and payments of money made by the Officers and Directors of the Association in their conduct of affairs of the Association since the last Annual General Meeting held May 21, 2008, be approved. The same are hereby ratified, confirmed, and sanctioned." The motion was seconded by Ed Smith, and unanimously approved by the membership.

10. <u>Announcement of New Board Members:</u> President Hites introduced the new Board members and appointments: Peter Dillon, Rob Letcher, Linda Mortsch (Regular Members), Amanda Poste (Student Member), Linda Campbell (President), and Bob Heath (Vice-President).

11. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members:

President Hites noted that the terms of Lynda Corkum as Past-President, Mark Dzoka as Student Board Member, and Susan Doka, Chris Metcalfe and Chuck Madejian had expired and expressed thanks to them for their service and contribution to the Association.

12. Adjournment:

President Hites adjourned the meeting at 12:55 hrs.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Guildford, Secretary