MINUTES Annual Business Meeting International Association for Great Lakes Research

Trent University Peterborough, ON

21 May 2008

1. Call to Order

President Lynda Corkum called the meeting to order at 1210h.

2. Approval of the Agenda

A motion to approve the meeting agenda was offered by Ron Hites, seconded by Gerry Matisoff, and was unanimously supported.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2007 Annual Business Meeting

A motion to approve the minutes of the 2007 Annual Business Meeting was offered by Dave Culver, seconded by Bob Heath, and was unanimously supported.

4. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Steve Lozano presented a financial statement and summary of the Association's standing for the year ending 31 December 2007. A motion to approve the Treasurer's Report was offered by Miriam Diamond, seconded by Lisa Tulen, and was unanimously supported

5. President's Report

President Lynda Corkum gave a PowerPoint presentation outlining key business conducted by the Board in 2007.

6. JGLR Editor's Report

Journal Editor Marlene Evans spoke to key issues related to the Journal, and particularly the Association's transition to a web-based editorial system through Elsevier.

7. Executive Director's Report

IAGLR Executive Director Robert Sweeney presented an overview of his activities on behalf of the Association since his appointment, including raising of IAGLR's profile in political circles.

8. Business from the Floor

President Corkum asked if there was any business that the membership wished to bring forward. Hearing none, the meeting continued.

9. Business from the Board of Directors

President Corkum asked if there was any business that the Board wished to bring forward. At this point, announcements were made regarding the venues for future meet-

ings, and Carol Stepien as Conference Chair provided an overview of plans for the 2009 conference at the University of Toledo.

10. Motion of Responsibility

The Motion of Responsibility was offered by John Gannon: "Resolved, that all acts, contracts, proceedings, and payments of money made by the Officers and Directors of the Association in their conduct of affairs of the Association since the last Annual General Meeting held May 24, 2007, be approved. The same are hereby ratified, confirmed, and sanctioned." The motion was seconded by Gerry Matisoff, and unanimously approved by the membership.

11. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members:

President Corkum noted that the terms of Matt Simcik at Past-President, Stephen Hensler as Student Board Member, and Chris Marvin as Secretary had expired and expressed thanks to them for their service and contribution to the Association.

12. Announcement of New Board Members:

President Corkum then introduced the new Board members and appointments: Robert Heath and Joseph Makarewicz (Regular Members), Kristin Devanna (Student Member), Stephanie Guildford (Secretary), Ron Hites (President), and Linda Campbell (Vice-President).

9. Adjournment:

President Corkum adjourned the meeting at 12:50 hrs.

Respectfully Submitted,

Chris Marvin, Secretary