MINUTES Annual Business Meeting International Association for Great Lakes Research

Penn State University College Station, PA

30 May 2007

1. Call to Order

President Matt Simcik called the meeting to order at 1215h.

2. Approval of the Agenda

A motion to approve the meeting agenda (Attachment A) was offered by Tim Johnson, seconded by Ron Hites, and was unanimously supported.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2006 Annual Business Meeting

A motion to approve the minutes of the 2006 Annual Business Meeting was offered by Tim Johnson, seconded by Bob Heath, and was unanimously supported.

4. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Steve Lozano tabled a financial statement and a summary of the Association's standing was given by President Matt Simcik (Attachment B). A motion to approve the Treasurer's Report was offered by Bob Heath, seconded by Carol Stepien, and was unanimously supported

5. President's Report

President Simcik gave a verbal overview of the operations of the Association. Matt acknowledged the contributions of the individual members, Committee Chairs, and Wendy Foster and the IAGLR Business Office. Matt also solicited members to participate in IAGLR as Committee Chairs. Matt announced the appointment of Ron Hites of the Endowment Committee. He also stressed the impact of elimination of B&W page charges for regular IAGLR issues, and encouraged greater numbers of submissions from the membership to JGLR.

Votes on changing of the IAGLR bylaws were then solicited.

RE #1: Lynda, Ron, 4 opposed.

RE #2: A question arose regarding the definition of a "young professional". Tim Johnson defined the term as someone working as a professional within 3 years of graduation. The Treasurer noted that estimates of additional revenue are difficult to forecast. Grazowkoi, Lesht, 1 opposed.

RE #3: Diamond, Chow-Fraser, 1 opposed.

RE: #4: Johnson, Stepien, 6 opposed. RE: #5: Diamond, Depinto, unanimous. RE: #6: A question arose from the floor why terms of service of the Secretary and Treasurer are limited; President Simick noted that this policy is being implemented to get greater participation of the membership in key Association positions. Johnson, Hites, 24 for, 31 against.

RE: #7: Comments from the floor voiced concerns over financial matters being decided upon by the Board without input from the membership. Hites, Corkum, 11 yes, 61 against.

RE: #8: Johnson, Hites, unanimous.

Matt then concluded his remarks by giving an update on the five-year plan and the process for establishing the Executive Director position.

6. Business from the Floor

President Simcik asked if there was any business that the membership wished to bring forward. Hearing none, the meeting continued.

7. Business from the Board of Directors

President Simcik asked if there was any business that the Board wished to bring forward. Hearing none, the meeting continued.

8. Motion of Responsibility

The Motion of Responsibility was offered by John Hartig: "Resolved, that all acts, contracts, proceedings, and payments of money made by the Officers and Directors of the Association in their conduct of affairs of the Association since the last Annual General Meeting held May 24, 2005, be approved. The same are hereby ratified, confirmed, and sanctioned." The motion was seconded by Depinto, and unanimously approved by the membership.

9. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members:

President Simcik noted that the terms of Carol Stepien (Outreach) and Lisa Tulen (Student) and Tim Johnson (Past-President and M) had expired and expressed thanks to them for their service and contribution to the Association.

10. Announcement of New Board Members:

President Johnson then introduced the newly elected Board members: Ron Hites and Charles Madenjian (Regular Members), Stephen Hensler (Student Member), and Steve Lozano (Treasurer).

11. Transfer of the Chair:

President Simcik introduced the 2007-2008 President of the Association, Lynda Corkum, and transferred the authority of the chair.

12. IAGLR 2008:

Leslie Collins from Trent University gave a brief introduction to IAGLR 2008 to be convened at Trent University in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada.

13. Adjournment:

President Simcik adjourned the meeting at 12:58 hrs.

Respectfully Submitted,

Chris Marvin, Secretary